Palestinian journalists covering Gaza awarded 2024 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize

The Committee to Protect Journalists’ tally of media workers killed in the Israeli Genocide of Palestinians currently stands at 97. In contrast, the International Federation of Journalists (IFJ) tally stands at 109, and regional groups peg the total higher still. As of last month, RSF’s tally stood at 105, but the group had to that point only determined that 22 of those journalists were killed “in the course of their work”—a distinction that a Palestinian press group has blasted as tantamount to whitewashing Israeli crimes. AFP Photo


Palestinian journalists covering Gaza have been named laureates of the 2024 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize following the recommendation of an International Jury of media professionals. The Award Ceremony will take place on 2 May in Santiago, Chile, in the margins of the World Press Freedom Conference.

In these times of darkness and hopelessness, we wish to share a strong message of solidarity and recognition to those Palestinian journalists who are covering this crisis in such dramatic circumstances. As humanity, we have a huge debt to their courage and commitment to freedom of expression.

Mauricio WeibelChair of the International Jury of Media Professionals

Each year, the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano Prize pays tribute to the courage of journalists facing difficult and dangerous circumstances. Once again this year, the Prize reminds us of the importance of collective action to ensure that journalists around the world can continue to carry out their essential work to inform and investigate.

Audrey Azoulay UNESCO Director-General
UNESCO Director-General

UNESCO supports journalists in conflict worldwide

UNESCO is supporting journalists reporting from conflict and crisis zones. The Organization is distributing essential supplies to journalists in Gaza, has established safe working spaces, and provided emergency grants for journalists in Ukraine and Sudan. UNESCO is also providing protective equipment and training to journalists in Haiti and supporting independent media in Afghanistan.

More broadly, UNESCO promotes the safety of journalists through global awareness-raising, training, and coordination of the implementation of the UN Plan of Action on the Safety of Journalists and the Issue of Impunity.

About the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 

Created in 1997, the annual UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize honors an outstanding contribution to the defense and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger. It is the only such prize awarded to journalists within the UN System.  

It is named for Guillermo Cano Isaza, the Colombian journalist who was assassinated in front of the offices of his newspaper El Espectador in Bogotá, Colombia, on 17 December 1986, and funded by the Guillermo Cano Isaza Foundation (Colombia), the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland), the Namibia Media Trust, Democracy & Media Foundation Stichting Democratie & Media (The Netherlands), and the Thomson Reuters Foundation. 


With 194 Member States, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization contributes to peace and security by leading multilateral cooperation on education, science, culture, communication and information. Headquartered in Paris, UNESCO has offices in 54 countries and employs over 2300 people. UNESCO oversees over 2000 World Heritage sites, Biosphere Reserves, and Global Geoparks; networks of Creative, Learning, Inclusive, and Sustainable Cities; and over 13,000 associated schools, university chairs, training, and research institutions. Its Director-General is Audrey Azoulay.

“Since wars begin in the minds of men, it is in the minds of men that the defenses of peace must be constructed” – UNESCO Constitution, 1945. 

More information:

Comments are closed.

Send this to a friend